The word Chakra is an old Sanskrit term and translates into 'wheel' or 'circle'. Chakras spin in a circular motion and are shaped like a spinning fan. Each chakra has its own vibration frequency but cannot work independently of the other chakras. Each chakra only works fully when the others are fully engaged, they are all part of the whole energy system.


The seven main chakras are along the spine and connected to major organs or glands that govern other body parts. When a chakra centre is out of balance it is usually felt on a mental, emotional or physical level.


Many things can cause chakra imbalances from our physical environment to our emotions or mental dialogue. Trauma (physical & emotional), feelings such as anger, worry, anxiety, fear or doubts, negative thoughts or if wediminish our own or another person’s sense of self-worth will affect our chakras the same way as holdingin of emotions, having a destructive lifestyle/relationship and nutritional depletion.


Imbalances will affect a person’s well being over time.

Below you can find a summary of the main characteristics of the seven major chakras:


Muladhara (Sanskrit: मूलाधार)
1st Chakra -The Root or Base Chakra (Red)

The Muladhara Chakra is located at the perineum, which is the region between the genital and the anus. Although no gland is placed here, it is said to relate to the adrenals and the gonads, which are responsible for the fight–or-flight response when survival is under threat.

This chakra relates the earth element and represents grounding and our connection to the physical body and the physical world. It corresponds with the intestines, spinal column and kidneys and represents our instinct, security, survival and physical & sexual energy.

                Physical: assertiveness & survival
                Mental: sensation & instinct
                Emotional: self- confidence
                Spiritual: sense of security & primal trust


When balanced we are motivated and feel the will to live.


Swadisthana (Sanskrit: स्वाधिष्ठान)

2nd Chakra - Sacral Chakra (Orange)

This Chakra is located in the Sacrum and relates to the water element and our emotional identity. The Swadisthana Chakra corresponds to the reproductive system, lymphatic system and body fluids and represents creativity, inspiration, pleasure and sexuality.  

                Physical: pleasure, productivity & reproduction
                Mental: creativity, birthing of new things
                Emotional: enthusiasm & joy
                Spiritual: happy to be alive


When balanced we are able to fully accept ourselves.


Manipura (Sanskrit: मणिपूर)

3rd Chakra - Solar Plexus Chakra (yellow)


This chakra is located at the solar plexus and corresponds to the metabolic and digestive system, stomach, liver, gall bladder, spleen as well as some aspects of the nervous system. It represents our desire, will power and ego and relates to our creative expression (thoughts and opinions), ‘digesting’ of experiences, confidence, self-worth and personal power.


                Physical: vitality & good sleep
                Mental: strong personality
                Emotional: strong nerves
                Spiritual: intuition & sensitivity


When balanced we are vital and full of energy.


Anahatha (Sanskrit: अनाहत)

4th Chakra - Heart Chakra (Green, Pink, Gold)

Within the Anahata symbol are two intersecting triangles, forming a hexagram, symbolising a union of the male and female energy. The Chakra is located at the centre of the chest. It relates to love, compassion, sharing and loving & accepting relationship with ourselves & others.


It is the centre of balance, unity and healing. This Chakra corresponds to the heart, lungs and thymus. The maturation of T-cells take place in the thymus and are responsible for fending off disease and may be adversely affected by stress.

                Physical: circulation
                Emotional: unconditional love for the self and others
                Mental: passion & willingness to change
                Spiritual: truthfulness & devotion


When balanced we are generous and can adapt to change easily.


Vishuddha (Sanskrit: विशुद्ध)

5th Chakra – Throat Chakra  (Sky Blue)


This is the chakra located at the throat parallel to the thyroid. The thyroid hormones are responsible for growth and maturation. The Throat Chakra corresponds to the bronchial and vocal apparatus, alimentary canal and joints. It represents communication with ourselves and others, expression and creativity. It relates to growth through expression, speaking your own truth, speaking things into being.        

                Physical: communication
                Emotional: independence
                Mental: self-expression
                Spiritual: inspiration & truth


When balanced we choose our words carefully and enjoy mental clarity.


Ajna (Sanskrit: आज्ञा)

6th Chakra - Third Eye Chakra (Violet or Indigo)

This Chakra is located slightly above and between the eye brows at the point where two side nadis (energy channels or meridians) merge with one central nadi, signifying the end of duality. The Chakra relates to the lower brain, nervous system, sinus, ears, nose and left eye. The key aspects of this chakra are intuition, imagination seeing clearly, having a vision and possessing insight.


                Physical: pituitary gland; balancing the hormone & nervous system
                Emotional: compassion
                Mental: imagination
                Spiritual: self-awareness, extrasensory perception &

trusting inner guidance


When balanced we are able to see the bigger picture and are aware of our personal responsibility


Sahasrara (Sanskrit: सहस्रार)

7th Chakra - Crown chakra (White or Gold)

This chakra is located at the crown of the head and is generally considered to be the chakra of pure consciousness, where there is neither object nor subject. It is believed that this is where the soul enters the physical body at birth and departs at the time of death. The Sahasrara Chakra is linked to the pineal gland which stimulates envisioning. The pineal gland is light sensitive and produces the hormone melatonin which regulates our sleep-wake cycle.


This chakra also relates to the upper brain and right eye. It represents our cosmic consciousness, pure knowing, and connection with the higher self and the divine. The key aspects of this chakra are thought, higher knowing, information, understanding, centre & source of consciousness, spirituality, enlightment & transendance.


                Physical: regulation of sleep-wake-cycle
                Emotional: being
                Mental: access to inner wisdom
                Spiritual: connection to higher-self and unity with the

universal consciousness


When balanced we experience deep inner peace and trust in life.